Awesome book cover Friday: The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Today’s pick is perfect for young readers: The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by author Claire Legrand and illustrator Sarah Watts, published just this week as hardcover and digital versions.

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Legrand and Watts

From Amazon:

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t’ come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria — even if it means getting a little messy.

Do you like this one? I love how the three-tone color scheme makes everything in the design stand out exactly how it should!