Step into my time machine: a review of W.A.R.P. Book 1: The Reluctant Assassin

As he bowed, a drop of someone else’s blood fell from his nose, landing on Chevie’s forehead, and she was struck to her core with a terror that she could barely contain.

W.A.R.P. Book 1Time travel is cool, but it’s even better when you don’t have to worry about pesky anachronisms.

Maybe I watched too many episodes of X-Men as a kid, but I’ve always hated time-travel plotlines. Every time a character thought it was a good idea to visit the past or the future and change something, I groaned. It never worked out well for anyone, and they messed up more than they fixed.

Now, if I could zip back in time, I would tell myself a lot of things. Much of my advice to my younger self would consist of “this isn’t as important as you think it is,” “stay in touch with that person,” and “just try it” — but if I returned to my freshman year of high school and happened upon the very month that I was reading Artemis Fowl, I would casually mention that maybe I should give Eoin Colfer more of a chance because hey, this one book he’s going to write is pretty grand.

Yep. I borrowed Artemis Fowl from the library years ago, and I didn’t like it. Maybe the first book was just lousy or something, but I feel like I should have spent more time exploring author Eoin Colfer’s works. His latest, The Reluctant Assassin — the first entry in his new W.A.R.P. series — is well written and thoroughly enjoyable.

Read More

Awesome book cover Friday: Wolves, Boys, and Other Things That Might Kill Me

I hope everyone is enjoying the holiday break! Today’s cover pick is Wolves, Boys, and Other Things That Might Kill Me by Kristen Chandler, released in 2010.

Wolves, Boys cover

Here’s a description:

KJ Carson lives an outdoor lover’s dream. The only daughter of a fishing and wildlife guide, KJ can hold her own on the water or in the mountains near her hometown outside Yellowstone National Park. But when she meets the shaggy-haired, intensely appealing Virgil, KJ loses all self-possession. And she’s not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing that they’re assigned to work together on a school newspaper article about the famous wolves of Yellowstone. As KJ spends time with Virgil, she also spends more time getting to know a part of her world that she always took for granted…and she begins to see herself and her town in a whole new light.

This is a fun cover. The colors in the font hint that it’s for young readers (as does the picture of the lonely-looking girl), but the wolf at the top is just silly. What do you think?

Awesome book cover Friday: The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Today’s pick is perfect for young readers: The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by author Claire Legrand and illustrator Sarah Watts, published just this week as hardcover and digital versions.

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Legrand and Watts

From Amazon:

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t’ come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria — even if it means getting a little messy.

Do you like this one? I love how the three-tone color scheme makes everything in the design stand out exactly how it should!